Health Libraries Information Network

Awards & Scholarships

HealthLINE Travel Awards

The HealthLINE Travel Awards was established to help defray the expenses an attendee would incur while attending the annual meeting of the South Central Chapter of the Medical Library Association. The number and amount of awards may change annually. Attendance at this meeting allows the recipient to network with colleagues, register for continuing education courses, hear guest speakers, attend the contributed paper sessions, and participate in various social events that occur at each year's conference. Award recipients are required to report on their SCC experience at the next HealthLINE meeting.

Year Member/Institution Student/Library School

Jean Hillyer, Baylor University School of Nursing
Emily Johnson, UNT Health Science Center

RaeAnna Jeffers, University of North Texas
2016 Ashley Brock, Cook Children's
Hema Sawhney, Medical City Dallas Hospital
Shelby Tallent, University of North Texas
2015 Erica Owusu, Amigos Library Services
Joy Russell, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Library
LeAnn Boyce, University of North Texas
2014 Mandrell Bufford, Baylor Health Sciences Library (n/a)
2013 Shae Martinez, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Library
Hannah Rutledge, Children's Medical Center
Peace Williamson, Texas Woman's University
2012 Lisa Huang, Collin College
Linda Barnette, Texas Woman's University
Valerie Howard, University of North Texas
2011 Sandy Swan, Phil Johnson Library, Resource Center Dallas
Debra Gomez, University of North Texas
2010 Emily Patridge, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Library
Sonya Ritchie, University of North Texas
2009 Molly Montgomery
Carrie Gassett, University of North Texas
2008 (n/a) Kristen DeSanto, University of North Texas
Sudha Ramakrishnan, University of North Texas
2007 Patricia Reese, UNT Science and Technology Library
Virginia (Ginger) Roberts, Texas Woman's University 
2006 Lisa Huang, Collin College-Central Park Campus Library
Jean Hillyer, University of North Texas
Jill Whitfill, University of North Texas

Librarian of the Year (LOTY) Award

The HealthLINE Librarian of the Year Award recognizes the contributions of a current member who has demonstrated significant accomplishments in medical librarianship. Winners of the award have demonstrated significant contributions in their home library or accomplishments which directly benefit HealthLINE and its members. Other considerations for the award include service to the profession, current activities, achievements in medical library work, and the impact, visibility, and recognition of that work.

  • 2016: No award given
  • 2015: Mary Nelson Peters, Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children
  • 2014: No award given
  • 2013: No award given
  • 2012: Jon Crossno, UT Southwestern
  • 2011: Kathy Broyles, UNT-HSC
  • 2010: Clayton Crenshaw, UNT-HSC
  • 2009: Lisa Huang, Collin College
  • 2008: Kelly Gonzalez, UT Southwestern
  • 2007: No award given
  • 2006: Ana Cleveland, UNT SLIS
  • 2005: Brian Bunnett, UT Southwestern
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software