Health Libraries Information Network

Awards & Scholarships

HealthLINE Travel Awards

The HealthLINE Travel Awards were established to help defray the expenses an attendee would incur while attending the annual meeting of the South Central Chapter of the Medical Library Association. The number and amount of awards may change annually. Attendance at this meeting allows the recipient to network with colleagues, register for continuing education courses, hear guest speakers, attend the contributed paper sessions, and participate in various social events that occur at each year's conference. Award recipients are required to report on their SCC experience at the next HealthLINE meeting.

Note: Two (2) travel awards of $350 each are available to assist members with expenses at the 2024 SCC Annual Meeting in Dallas, Texas: one for a professional working in the field and one for a student.

2024 Travel Awards - Application (application deadline:  Monday, August 12, 2024 – 11:59pm)

2024 Travel Awards - Flyer
Year Member/Institution Student/Library School
 2023 No award given No award given
2022 Ashley Brock, Cook Children's Ciara Seals, University of North Texas
2021 No award given No award given
2020 No award given No award given
2019 No award given No award given
2018 Brook Amen, UNT Health Science Center No award given
2017 Jean Hillyer, Baylor University School of Nursing
Emily Johnson, UNT Health Science Center
RaeAnna Jeffers, University of North Texas
2016 Ashley Brock, Cook Children's
Hema Sawhney, Medical City Dallas Hospital
Shelby Tallent, University of North Texas
2015 Erica Owusu, Amigos Library Services
Joy Russell, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Library
LeAnn Boyce, University of North Texas
2014 Mandrell Bufford, Baylor Health Sciences Library No award given
2013 Shae Martinez, Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Library
Hannah Rutledge, Children's Medical Center
Peace Williamson, Texas Woman's University
2012 Lisa Huang, Collin College Linda Barnette, Texas Woman's University
Valerie Howard, University of North Texas
2011 Sandy Swan, Phil Johnson Library, Resource Center Dallas Debra Gomez, University of North Texas
2010 Emily Patridge, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Library Sonya Ritchie, University of North Texas
2009 Molly Montgomery Carrie Gassett, University of North Texas
2008 No award given Kristen DeSanto, University of North Texas
Sudha Ramakrishnan, University of North Texas
2007 Patricia Reese, UNT Science and Technology Library Virginia (Ginger) Roberts, Texas Woman's University
2006 Lisa Huang, Collin College-Central Park Campus Library Jean Hillyer, University of North Texas
Jill Whitfill, University of North Texas

Librarian of the Year (LOTY) Award

The HealthLINE Librarian of the Year Award recognizes the contributions of a current member who has demonstrated significant accomplishments in medical librarianship. Winners of the award have demonstrated significant contributions in their home library or accomplishments which directly benefit HealthLINE and its members. Other considerations for the award include service to the profession, current activities, achievements in medical library work, and the impact, visibility, and recognition of that work.

  • 2023: No award given
  • 2022: No award given
  • 2021: Cathy Nakashima, UT Southwestern
  • 2020: No award given
  • 2019: No award given
  • 2018: Cathy Schack, Methodist Health System
  • 2017: No award given
  • 2016: No award given
  • 2015: Mary Nelson Peters, Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children
  • 2014: Scarlett Burchfield, Texas Health Fort Worth Medical Library
  • 2013: No award given
  • 2012: Jon Crossno, UT Southwestern
  • 2011: Kathy Broyles, UNT-HSC
  • 2010: Clayton Crenshaw, UNT-HSC
  • 2009: Lisa Huang, Collin College
  • 2008: Kelly Gonzalez, UT Southwestern
  • 2007: No award given
  • 2006: Ana Cleveland, UNT SLIS
  • 2005: Brian Bunnett, UT Southwestern
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software