Health Libraries Information Network

HealthLINE Blog

The HealthLINE blog serves as a means to facilitate communication to HealthLINE members beyond the capabilities of the HealthLINE listserv and provides information about HealthLINE meetings, CE classes, news, website suggestions, and more. It was originally launched in March 2004.

Blog posts from March 2004 through October 27, 2010, may still be viewed at http://healthline.blogspot.com/. This site includes all posts since October 29, 2010.

  • 04/13/2015 10:30 AM | Jane Scott (Administrator)

    Congratulations to our member, Cheryl Rowan!  Cheryl has been appointed as the next MLA News editor. Her term will begin with the June/July issue.

    Many thanks to Laurie Thompson, the outgoing editor and former HealthLINE member, for her years of dedication and service in guiding the MLA News.

  • 03/13/2015 2:36 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)

    One of our members, Peace Ossom Williamson, has an article in the latest Journal of Electronic Resources in Medical Libraries!

    A Review of OvidSP as An E-Books Delivery Platform
    Peace Ossom Williamson
    Pages: 48-58
    DOI: 10.1080/15424065.2015.1001963
    Journal of Electronic Resources in Medical Libraries, Volume 12, Issue 1, January-March 2015


  • 02/17/2015 1:34 PM | Jane Scott (Administrator)

    MLA's Hospital Libraries Section has elected Karen Keller as their Chair Elect for 2015-16!

    MLA’s Collection Development Section has elected Carol Seiler as Secretary/Treasurer!


    Congratulations to both of you.  Thanks for all you do for MLA.  Know many of our members will be helping out at MLA in Austin, thanks for your volunteering to make this conference the best!

  • 01/28/2015 12:07 PM | Jane Scott (Administrator)

    The 25th Anniversary HealthLINE Event Photo Album is now available for viewing in the Members section.

    Click the link above and log-in to view it in this  members-only access section.

  • 01/09/2015 1:57 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)

    Thinking about attending the HealthLINE 25th Anniversary Celebration but haven’t decided yet? Or are you waiting until the last possible minute to register?  Well, seating is limited so please register by Saturday, January 17, to make sure and reserve your spot ASAP!


    As a reminder, the celebration and meeting are being held Thursday, January 22, 2015, at Joe T. Garcia’s Mexican Restaurant in Fort Worth (just north of downtown) from 11 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.  Cost is $10 per person and includes the meal, beverage, birthday cake, and gratuity.


    To register, go to http://dfwhealthline.wildapricot.org/event-1800091. Guests are welcome to attend so bring your spouse or significant other!  Former HealthLINE members are also encouraged to attend so let them know about it!


    If you have any questions, please let Jon Crossno know!

  • 12/16/2014 2:10 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)

    The Texas Woman's University Foundation has honored our very own Elaine Cox by naming her the 2014-15 recipient of the Elizabeth Snapp Award for Excellence in Librarianship.

    Check out the TWU Libraries Blog post to find out more.

    Congratulations, Elaine!

  • 12/05/2014 6:27 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)

    Please nominate a HealthLINE member Librarian as Librarian of the Year for 2014. Please complete the 2014 Librarian of the Year Nomination Form and return to Mary Ann Huslig by Dec. 22. Award will be given at our 25th Anniversary Meeting on January 22, 2015.

    The HealthLINE Librarian of the Year Award recognizes the contributions of a current member who has demonstrated significant accomplishments in medical librarianship. Winners of the award have demonstrated significant contributions in their home library or accomplishments which directly benefit HealthLINE and its members. Other considerations for the award include service to the profession, current activities, achievements in medical library work, and the impact, visibility, and recognition of that work.

    • 2013: No Award
    • 2012: Jon Crossno, UT Southwestern
    • 2011: Kathy Broyles, UNT-HSC
    • 2010: Clayton Crenshaw, UNT-HSC
    • 2009: Lisa Huang, Collin College
    • 2008: Kelly Gonzalez, UT Southwestern
    • 2007: No Award
    • 2006: Ana Cleveland, UNT SLIS
    • 2005: Brian Bunnett, UT Southwestern
  • 12/01/2014 4:13 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)

    Please put Thursday, Jan. 22, 2015, on your calendar for the next HealthLINE meeting! We will celebrate 25 years of HealthLINE with a luncheon.


    Place: Joe T. Garcia's Mexican restaurant in Fort Worth, just north of downtown
    Time: 11 am - 2:30 pm
    Cost: $10 per person (includes drink, birthday cake, and tip!) -- Note: UNTHSC-Fort Worth and UTSW have offered to partially subsidize the party, which is why our per-person cost is so low!
    Agenda: The business meeting will include transition of officers and the LOTY Award. Program will be based on 25 years of medical librarianship in our Dallas Fort Worth HealthLINE group, with Dan Burgard as Master of Ceremonies.

    What to do:

    1. Register at http://dfwhealthline.wildapricot.org/event-1800091! Guests are welcome, but seating is limited for the meal (maximum 48), so please register soon!
    2. Do you know how to contact a former HealthLINE member? If so, please let Mary Peters (email: Mary.Peters@tsrh.org) know -- so we don't duplicate efforts -- and tell them about the event in case they want to register.
    3. If you wish to be involved in some way, please let Mary know.
    4. Please submit a recent photo of yourself -- in your library if possible! A group shot of your staff would be great, too, from our institutional members. Please email photos to Kathy Broyles at kathy.broyles@unthsc.edu by Jan. 12 so they can go in the slide show.
  • 11/20/2014 7:05 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)
    Hi All:

    I just wanted to let you know the results of today's HealthLINE treasurer run-off election. We had an outstanding slate this year and I appreciate everyone’s willingness to participate. Congratulations to Jon Crossno on being elected treasurer!

    Lisa Huang, Jean Hillyer, Leah Hamrick - Nominating Committee

  • 11/13/2014 7:30 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)

    Congratulations to Michele Whitehead! Michele was elected chair-elect of HealthLINE and will officially take office at the January 2015 HealthLINE meeting.


    For the treasurer position, it was a tie between Peace Ossom Williamson and Jon Crossno. To break the tie, paper ballots will be distributed to full individual and institutional representatives at the Nov. 20th HealthLINE meeting at UT-Southwestern in Dallas before 9:30 am. If the institutional representative is not attending the meeting, please let me know beforehand who is the alternate representative. The election results should be announced at the end of the Nov. 20th business meeting. Should the paper ballots results in another tie, Peace and Jon will break the tie by drawing straws!


    Hope to see everyone at the Nov. 20th meeting!  Should you have any questions, please let me know.


    Best regards,
    Lisa Huang
    Jean Hillyer
    Leah Hamrick
    Nominating Committee

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software