Health Libraries Information Network

HealthLINE Blog

The HealthLINE blog serves as a means to facilitate communication to HealthLINE members beyond the capabilities of the HealthLINE listserv and provides information about HealthLINE meetings, CE classes, news, website suggestions, and more. It was originally launched in March 2004.

Blog posts from March 2004 through October 27, 2010, may still be viewed at http://healthline.blogspot.com/. This site includes all posts since October 29, 2010.

  • 02/22/2013 2:39 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)
    I've been following the case of librarian Dale Askey being sued by Edwin Mellen Press for his comments. The outcome of this lawsuit has freedom of speech ramifications and the work of librarians. I value the comments of fellow librarians for collection development purposes. http://goo.gl/xLjXo

    MLA and AAHSL has come out in support of Askey by asking Edwin Mellen Press to drop the lawsuit. http://goo.gl/ugDOv

    [The comments posted are the sole opinion of Lisa Huang.]
  • 02/20/2013 7:59 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)
    Hi everyone:

    Michelle Kraft of the Krafty Librarian blog will present at The Evolving Librarian Workshop in OU-Tulsa Schusterman Campus.  The workshop will look at these changes and provide examples of how librarians can meet them head on. Librarians will be asked to analyze their library and library services and create a strategy plan to position it for the future.  Check out

    http://library.tulsa.ou.edu/evolving?sid=505 for more information.  Registration is open but space is limited.
  • 01/18/2013 5:11 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)
    Press Release:
    Date: January 17, 2013

    HealthLINE Announces Librarian of the Year 2012

    HealthLINE is excited to announce that Jon Crossno from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center has been named HealthLINE’s Librarian of the Year for 2012.

    The LOTY Award is the highest honor HealthLINE can bestow on a member. The purpose of this award is to recognize the contributions of a member who has demonstrated significant accomplishments in medical librarianship. Special consideration is given to accomplishments either in the recipient’s home library or that directly benefit HealthLINE and its members.

    Crossno, known throughout MLA’s South Central Chapter as its President for 2011-12, has just completed a 3-year rotation through HealthLINE’s executive offices. During that time he modernized and streamlined HealthLINE’s inner workings, developing computer programs to handle electronic voting and interlibrary loan statistical reporting, both of which had previously been done in print. He also coordinated a panel discussion on opportunities in medical librarianship that included graduate school professors and the President of MLA.

    HealthLINE is the Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas, organization of health science librarians and libraries, with members representing medical and allied health schools, hospitals and health-related companies and associations throughout the DFW Metroplex.

    CrossnoLOTY2012Jon Crossno


    Contact: Mary Peters, Past Chair
  • 01/03/2013 12:21 AM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)

    "Happy New Year HealthLINE!

    My 2013 resolution is to improve my librarian skills/knowledge and to keep up with emerging trends and technologies. Frankly, I have a greater shot at success with this resolution than anything related to exercise, weight loss or organization! Another great resolution- be realistic! :-)

    Here are a selection of webinars for this month and beyond:<\p>

    • Dr. Jane Borzath, an eLearning coordinator for the state of North Carolina, teaches two webinars a month related to online learning. A list of classes through June can be found on her website.
    • OCLC Webjunction has a very nice list of free webinars being held in January from variety of sources.
    • The Infopeople website has a list of four webinars being held in January in February. One I'm very interested in taking is called, 'Keeping Your Library Safe- Black Belt Librarians'.
    • The Texas State Library and Archives Commission has a list of classes as well. Most are aimed at a school or public library, but I have signed up for their four-part leadership webinar.

    I'll be happy to add to this list- just let me know what classes you're looking forward to taking in 2013."

  • 11/19/2012 5:33 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)
    2013 Officers: Teresa Hansen, Treasurer; Mary Peters, Past President; Lisa Huang, President; Shelley Burns, President-Elect; Pat Reese, Secretary2013 Officers: Teresa Hansen, Treasurer; Mary Peters, Past President; Lisa Huang, President; Shelley Burns, President-Elect; Pat Reese, Secretary

    2012 President Mary Peters2012 President Mary Peters

    Presenter Danelle Orange discussed the UNT Oral History ProjectPresenter Danelle Orange discussed the UNT Oral History Project

    Presenter Dr. Joseph Warren on forensic investigations with introductions by Michele WhiteheadPresenter Dr. Joseph Warren on forensic investigations with introductions by Michele Whitehead
  • 11/19/2012 5:12 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)
    At the recent SCC-MLA meeting in Lubbock, Texas, Dan Burgard, Director of the UNT Health Science Center Library, gave a short light hearted presentation on medical eponyms. If you missed it, or would like to view it again, you can find it here: http://digitalcommons.hsc.unt.edu/fac/14/
  • 11/13/2012 4:30 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)
    The Internet Librarian conference is a great place to keep up on what all types of libraries are doing with online tools. Many of the presentations get posted on the IL conference website. Good news for those of us not lucky enough to get to spend a few days in Monterey!

    Ellyssa Kroski who blogs at iLibrarian, has posted 10 presentations that she particularly enjoyed.
  • 11/12/2012 4:34 AM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)

    "I love to geek out on MeSH, so I always look forward to the year end preview of the new, modified and deleted terms. The most recent NLM Technical Bulletin has a link to the 2013 MeSH.

    Some of the new terms definitely fit the, 'I could have really used this subject heading for a recent search' bill.

    Such as:

    Others I just had to read the scope note since they were interesting or unfamiliar terms:

    Happy Mesh-ing!"

  • 11/07/2012 4:22 PM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)
    Do you know of a librarian who you feel should be recognized for their contributions to the medical field? If so, nominate him or her for the Librarian of the Year Award! The nomination form is under Awards on the main Healthline website: http://dfwhealthline.org/awards.html\nNominations are due December 11th, so hurry to get yours in!

    Congratulations to Healthline's new incoming officers! Shelly Burns is our new Chair-Elect and Teresa Hanson is our new Treasurer. If you run into them, please thank them for their service to our organization!
  • 07/28/2012 12:51 AM | Jon Crossno (Administrator)
    I'm a bit late to the game on this one, but there are a group of medical librarians that have been meeting on Twitter every Thursday night for the last six weeks to discuss issues relevant to the profession. There is a calendar of scheduled chats, and links to the chat transcripts if you can't attend a live chat session. This is such a cool way to network with and be inspired by medical librarians all over the world!
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software